New Chair of Board of Trustees Appointed at 47th AGM

Thank you to everyone who attended our 47th Annual General Meeting (AGM) virtually on Tuesday 25th August 2020 as we celebrated the impact of our work and welcomed a new chair to our Board of Trustees.

This year marked some significant changes to our Board, in particular the appointment of our new Chair, Alan Tait (pictured right). Alan has a longstanding connection to CPSL Mind, both as a volunteer (since 2012) with the former Wellbeing Service and a member of the Co-Production Team. He also volunteered at Fulbourn Hospital during the 1970s and has considerable experience providing support to a family member with mental health challenges.

Alan is an Emeritus Professor of Distance Education and Development at the Open University, with whom he has held a variety of posts including Pro Vice-chancellor (Academic). Now semi-retired, he works part-time at the University of London’s Centre for Distance Education; and on a range of international projects.

He takes the reins from Stuart Jessup who has played a vital role during a period of change for our charity. Stuart has inspired many with his open approach to talking about his own mental health challenges and has been an invaluable support to our Training Team over the years. We’d like to thank Stuart again and are delighted to report that he will continue with us as a trustee.

Two other new appointments saw Andréa Grosbois formally voted in as Vice-Chair and Maria Huber confirmed as Treasurer.

Our Board currently comprises 10 trustees, all of whom are volunteers. Between them, they bring a vast range of skills and expertise as well as considerable mental health-related life experience. Here is the full list of Trustees, together with their particular areas of expertise:

Position Name Expertise
Chair Alan Tait Education and Training
Vice Chair Andréa Grosbois Campaigns and Communications
Treasurer Maria Huber Finance
Trustee Stuart Jessup IT, Teaching and Project Management
Trustee Anne Streather Charity Governance/Management
Trustee Debbie Richards Human Resources
Trustee Louise Adcock Sales and Commerce
Trustee Richard Young Human Resources
Trustee Sharon Gilfoyle Peer Support, Equality & Diversity, Social Work and Recovery Service Delivery
Trustee Carol Clarke Human Resources